skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

ETSU Main Department Name

School Name

Dixon named to APA accreditation commission

Monday, January 05, 2009JOHNSON CITY – Dr. Wallace Dixon, chair of the Department of Psychology at East Tennessee State University, has been appointed to the American Psychological Association’s Commission on Accreditation.

The commission is charged with accreditation policy development and is responsible for the review of approximately 890 doctoral, internship, and postdoctoral residency programs in professional psychology.

Dixon has been an active member of the American Psychological Association (APA) as Tennessee’s Rural Health Coordinator, and he was one of only two coordinators invited to participate in APA’s recent Committee on Rural Health Meeting.

In addition to his work with APA, Dixon has overseen a major research study at ETSU looking at temperament and language acquisition among infants.

He also played a leadership role in developing ETSU’s doctoral program in psychology, which is now beginning its second year. It is one of only a few primary care psychology training programs in the country.


icon for left menu icon for right menu