skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Office of the Dean

Quillen College of Medicine

Promotion and Tenure Committee

James H. Quillen College of Medicine

Promotion and Tenure Committee - 2019-2020


Jonathan Moorman, MD Internal Medicine 6/30/2023 appointed
Zhi Qiang Yao, PhD Internal Medicine 6/30/2023 appointed
Krishna Singh, MD Biomedical Sciences 6/30/2023 appointed
Olga Sarkodie, MD OB/GYN 6/30/2020 elected
Rajani Anand, MD Pediatrics 6/30/2020 appointed
Timir Paul, PhD Internal Medicine 6/30/2023 elected
Brian Rowe, MD Biomedical Sciences 7/1/2020 appointed
Alok Agrawal Ph.D. Biomedical Sciences 6/30/2021 elected
Des Bharti, MD Pediatrics 6/30/2021 elected



The promotion and tenure committee shall function in the role of advisor to the dean from November 1 to December 15 of each year. More specifically, the committee will:

  1. Receive and review promotion and tenure recommendations of the chairs and department committees for transmittal to the dean. In formulating its recommendations, the committee should concentrate on the broad perspective of college-wide staffing plans, the department's enrollment trends, and the philosophy and objectives of the college;

  2. Review all dossiers with the objective of assuring that criteria for promotion and tenure are being correctly and uniformly applied to all members of the college;

  3. Review completeness of the information presented and question any omissions in criteria or variations in procedure. Where discrepancies or misapplication of criteria are noted, the committee will attempt to correct the errors through direct consultation with those involved.

Note: Faculty serving on the College Promotion and Tenure Committee should vote at the departmental level, not at the college committee level.



The structure of the committee shall be as follows:

4 full-time faculty from basic science departments

4 full-time faculty from clinical science departments

An additional full-time faculty from either the basic science or the clinical science department, with each department alternately serving this position on an-every other term basis.

The membership will consist of faculty members from professorial ranks (at least two-thirds of the members of the committee should hold the rank of associate professor or professor), exclusive of department chairs. The dean should ensure adequate representation from the tenured faculty. Two of the basic science members and two of the clinical science members, will be appointed by the dean. Two of the basic science members and two of the clinical science members, will be elected by the faculty. The 9th full-time faculty member from either the basic science or the clinical science department will be appointed by the Dean in odd-numbered years and elected by the faculty in even-numbered years.

The date of the year will be determined by the July in which the academic year begins. When there are not sufficient numbers of faculty within a college holding the rank of associate professor or professor to serve on the committee, the dean will request participation of faculty in other colleges. Elections will be the responsibility of the faculty advisory council. No person who is an applicant for promotion in a given year may be an elected or appointed member of a College Promotion/Tenure Committee during that year. Should a member file a request for promotion during his/her term, that member shall excuse her/himself from the College Committee in that year. The College will obtain a replacement on the same basis as the individual was appointed. Only members of the college committee holding academic rank equal to or higher than that sought by a candidate may vote on that candidate's promotion. 









icon for left menu icon for right menu