skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

The Honors-in-Discipline Scholars Programs

East Tennessee State University

Contact Us

For general questions, especially questions about scholarships, please contact:

Dr. Michael Whitelaw, Director
Honors-in-Discipline Programs
Yoakley Hall Room 201

Bonnie Bailey, Secretary
Honors-in-Discipline Program
Yoakley Hall Room 206

For questions about a specific program, please contact the program coordinator.

Honors-in-Discipline Program Coordinators

College of Arts and Sciences

Biology: Dr. Rebecca Pyles, 423-439-4329,

Chemistry: Dr. Abbas Shilabin, 423-439-6917,

Communication Studies: Dr. Andrew Herrmann, 423-439-7563, 

Criminal Justice: Dr. Jennifer Pealer, 423-439-6810,

English: Dr. Michael Cody, 423-439-6676,

GeosciencesDr. Arpita Nandi, 423-439-6086,

History: Dr. Daniel Newcomer, 423-439-6802,

Mathematics: Dr. Rick Norwood, 423-439-6972,

Philosophy: Dr. Jeff Gold  423-439-5810,

Physics and Astronomy, Dr. Mark Giroux, 423-439-8684,

Psychology: Dr. Jason Steadman, 423-439-4424,

Theatre and Dance: Cara Harker, 423-439-5687,

College of Business and Technology

Business and Technology: Dr. Suzanne Smith, 423-439-6984, 

College of Clinical & Rehabilitative Health Sciences

Nutrition: Dr. Eileen Cress, 423-439-7538,

College of Education 

Early Childhood Education:  Dr. Alison Barton, 423-439-7682,

Special Education: Dr. Alison Barton, 423-439-7682,

Teacher Education: Dr. Huili Hong, 423-439-7583,

College of Nursing

Nursing: Dr. Kim Sell, 423-439-4604,

College of Public Health

Environmental Health: Dr. Kurt Maier, 423-439-7635,

Health Sciences - Human Health: Dr. Allan Forsman, 423-439-4502,

Health Sciences - Microbiology: Dr. Allan Forsman, 423-439-4502,


icon for left menu icon for right menu