RDC awards boost ETSU research efforts


JOHNSON CITY (June 26, 2013) – Nineteen faculty members at East Tennessee State University are the recipients of Research Development Committee (RDC) grants for the 2013-14 year. 

The RDC is a faculty committee coordinated by the ETSU Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Administration that is responsible for awarding intramural research dollars to faculty.  After extensive peer review by RDC members and previous grantees, 19 major and interdisciplinary grants were awarded for the 2013-14 year totaling more than $168,000.

“Historically, RDC grants have proven to be vital in furthering the university’s research efforts,” said Dr. Bill Duncan, Vice Provost for Research.  “For faculty, especially those new to the research process, these grants offer ‘seed money’ that helps them launch specific projects and collect data that can be used as a basis for larger, extramural grants.  A priority is given to new faculty members.

“But for others who already have received extramural support in the past, the awards may serve as bridge money when a particular grant has ended and a new one isn’t immediately funded.  In these situations, the research continues moving forward between grant cycles.  This is especially important during this time of sequestration of federal funds.”

Faculty members receiving RDC grants for the 2013-14 year included members of the colleges of Arts and Sciences, Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences, Public Health, the Clemmer College of Education, and the Quillen College of Medicine.  The recipients are Drs. Michelle Duffourc, Audra Gray, Joshua Greer, Theresa Harrison, Jameson Hirsch, Huili Hong, Karl Joplin, Michael Kruppa, Dihendra Kumar, Guangyu Li, Chris Liu, Leslie McCallister, Hua Mei, Paul Monaco, Phillip Musich, Chaya Nanjundeswaran, Matthew Palmatier, Chris Pritchett and Jill Stinson.

direct edit