skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University News

Distinguished President’s Trust, President’s Society welcome new members
ETSU Foundation Carillon and Alumni Plaza

KINGSPORT (April 22, 2016) – Some of the most loyal supporters of East Tennessee State University through the ETSU Foundation were recognized for their efforts during the Distinguished President’s Trust dinner at MeadowView Conference Resort and Convention Center on Friday, April 22.

The Distinguished President’s Trust (DPT) is comprised of individuals, organizations and businesses whose cumulative giving to ETSU is in excess of $10,000 each, usually the result of annual giving or combinations of significant major or planned gifts.  The President’s Society recognizes DPT members whose cumulative gifts to the university have reached $50,000.

ETSU President Dr. Brian Noland and ETSU Foundation Vice Chairman Thomas Krieger welcomed 46 new members of the DPT and 24 new and rising members of the President’s Society during the formal dinner.

Noland expressed appreciation for the transformative efforts of this group of more than 1,400 contributors. 

“Every student comes to East Tennessee State University with a dream,” he told those in attendance.  “Through your support, we are able to not only challenge students to dream big, but to help make those dreams come true.

“Two weeks from tomorrow, I have the opportunity to shake hands with more than 1,800 students as they cross the stage at graduation and receive their degrees.  While many events throughout the year are memorable, commencement is my favorite because it celebrates all of the accomplishments and efforts of not only the graduates, but the families, friends and supporters of the university who helped make it all possible.  Tonight, we take the time to say thank you.”

Krieger said, “The ETSU Foundation continues to benefit greatly from the leadership, support and service of these new members and all Distinguished President’s Trust members.  The support they provide enables ETSU to continue offering excellent educational opportunities for our students and resources for our faculty and staff. I encourage other alumni and friends to join the Distinguished President’s Trust in helping ETSU to continue its enduring legacy of service for our region, nation and world.”

“I am excited to announce that the DPT members have collectively contributed over $234 million to benefit the university,” said Vice President for University Advancement Pam Ritter.  “Among other very noteworthy projects, this group has enabled the ETSU Foundation to award almost 1,200 scholarships to our students during this past year.”

The newest DPT members include Jeffrey C. and Ashley Taylor, Bean Station; J.A. Street and Associates, Blountville; KBM Commercial Properties, Bristol; Karl J. and Vickie M. Jordan, Chattanooga; Hayworth Tire and Auto Service of Elizabethton, Johnson City and Kingsport; Jonathan A. Treadway, Elizabethton; Dr. Patricia and Phillip Vanhook, Gray; R. Donald and Linda Arnold, Drs. Jeffry and Virginia Bieber, Dr. Chester and Carol Blankenship, Dr. Thomas G. Burton, Drs. D. Das and K. Chakraborty, Philip D. Cooper Memorial Research Trust Fund Inc., Crown Laboratories Inc., James H. Epps IV, John A. Glaze, Dr. Judith A. Hammond, Timothy and Karen McGahey, Estate of Ada H. McLeod, Margaret W. and Ted Pate, the late Grace Sanderson, Universal Companies, UP & AT ‘EM Inc. and Dr. Robert and Jacquelyn Wondergem, Johnson City; Kelly and Jennifer Wolfe, Jonesborough; GAAM Wealth Advisors and TEC Industrial, Kingsport; Mark W. Love, Hugh E. and Shirley Wallen, and Emogene B. Griffin, Knoxville; Larry A. Bowles, Mascot; Okie’s Pharmacy, Maynardville; Gene Jolley, Morristown; Dianna W. McCauley, Oak Ridge; Business Information Systems, Piney Flats; Dr. Richard E. Davis, San Francisco, California; eTown, Boulder, Colorado; Eric J. Emerson, Orlando, Florida; Arby Edwards, Fayetteville, Georgia; Dr. Don T. Granger, Lexington, Kentucky; Anton J. Scodwell, Las Vegas, Nevada; Cecil J. Clark Jr. and Dr. Dale Wykoff, Asheville, North Carolina; Converse A. and Tara Chellis IV, Summerville, South Carolina; Classical Guitar Live, Austin, Texas; and ARMS Software L.L.C., North Chesterfield, Virginia.

The President’s Society is comprised of DPT members whose lifelong contributions to the ETSU Foundation exceed $50,000.  Most of these donors are permanently recognized on the President’s Society Wall of Honor in Burgin E. Dossett Hall. 

The newest members of the Bronze Society, which recognizes donors with cumulative contributions of at least $50,000, include Lt. Gen. Ron and Rebecca Hite, Fall Branch; Jeff Blake, Ferguson Enterprises, Dr. Brian Noland and Donna Fox Noland, One Stop Discount Wines and Spirits, and Drs. John and Janice Schweitzer, Johnson City; Dr. David and Judith Johnson, Jonesborough; Rocky L. Stump, Limestone; the Estate of Sebastian Cabrera III, Key West, Florida; Mike and Julie Smith, Suwanee, Georgia; Albert and Dr. Linda Garceau, Avon Lake, Ohio; and David A. Ogle, Bristol, Virginia. 

The Silver Society honors donors with cumulative contributions of at least $100,000.  New members include the Carnegie Hotel, Drs. Michael B. and Karen Fallgatter, Drs. Chad and Cindy Thomas, and the Washington County Economic Development Council, Johnson City; Leonard J. and Janice W. Barnett, Unicoi; and Jennie S. and Peter N. Stathis, Port Republic, Maryland.

The newest members of the Gold Society, which recognizes giving of at least $500,000, is the Estate of Nathan L. Dulaney, Bristol; the late Eddie Jack Miller, and the late Ginger Hawk Rutherford and the late Frank E. Rutherford, Johnson City; the First Tennessee Foundation, Memphis; and LeConte Medical Center, Sevierville.

Attaining Level II of the Platinum Society at $2 million are Sarah R. Simonds and the late Kenneth W. Simonds, Indian Wells, California

icon for left menu icon for right menu