skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University News

Kirkby named distinguished member of ACS Northeast TN section

JOHNSON CITY – Dr. Scott Kirkby, assistant dean of the School of Graduate Studies at East Tennessee State University, has received the 2016 Distinguished Member Award from the Northeast Tennessee Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

Kirkby is an associate professor and joined the ETSU faculty of the Department of Chemistry in 2003. He has served as the department’s graduate coordinator and an assistant chair.  He received his Honors B.Sc. degree in chemistry from the University of Western Ontario and his Ph.D. degree in physical chemistry from the University of Toronto.

At ETSU, he teaches general chemistry, physical chemistry, quantum mechanics, chemical thermodynamics, molecular spectroscopy and kinetics.  In 2011, he received the ETSU College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award.

Kirkby is the author of “Instructors Manual for Chemistry: The Molecular Nature of Matter, 7th Edition, by Jespersen, Hyslop and Bradey” published by John Wiley & Sons.

According to ACS, recipients are selected for this award based on technical contributions to the field of science; impact on the chemical industry in some way other than a technical achievement; contribution to science education; and influence on the perception of science with the public.

With nearly 157,000 members, the ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and also one of the leading sources of authoritative scientific information.

# # #

icon for left menu icon for right menu