skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University News

Roan Scholars Leadership Program welcomes new committee members

JOHNSON CITY (Sept. 21, 2017) — The Roan Scholars Leadership Program at East Tennessee State University has appointed five new community leaders to its steering committee – Betty DeVinney, Alan Levine, Dr. Paul Stanton, Melissa Steagall-Jones and John D. “Spike” Tickle. These individuals replace Claudia Byrd, Tom Krieger and Sandy Powell, each of whom rotated off the committee after numerous years of service to the program.

“Claudia, Sandy, and Tom each contributed greatly to the program through their insights and enthusiasm; they will be missed,” said Scott Jeffress, director of the Roan Scholars Leadership Program. “We look forward to working with each of our new members to develop transformative leaders for the region and world.” 

Betty DeVinney is a retired Eastman executive who recently served as board chairman for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Tennessee. Alan Levine is president and CEO of Mountain States Health Alliance. Dr. Paul Stanton is president emeritus of ETSU and serves as a Washington County commissioner. Melissa Steagall-Jones is a partner and Certified Public Accountant with Blackburn, Childers & Steagall. Spike Tickle is managing director of Three Horse Investments, LLC. 

“Not only are all five of these individuals highly respected in their chosen professions, but all are heavily involved in the community and bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the steering committee,” Jeffress said. “We are honored by their willingness to serve.”

The Roan Scholars Leadership Program inspires and develops students to be leaders of excellence who will positively impact the region and the world. The program includes a financial award for tuition and fees, room and board, books and supplies, as well as a comprehensive four-year program of experiences and opportunities designed to challenge and inspire students to grow and develop as future leaders.

For more information, contact the Roan Scholars office at 423-439-7677 or , or visit

icon for left menu icon for right menu