Mission & Purpose

We're glad you are interested in learning more about the ETSU Student Government Association.

Purpose of the SGA

The purpose of the Student Government Association is:

  • To provide a means whereby members of the student body may express themselves effectively in the development and maintenance of the University programs which affect their intellectual, physical, social, economic, and spiritual welfare.
  • To assist in the coordination of activities and services for the benefit of the student body and the entire University.
  • To promote better understanding and cooperation between students, faculty, administration, and others.
Organizational Structure
The Student Government Association at ETSU is organized into three distinct branches of government: the Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch, and the Judicial Branch.
  •  The Executive Branch is composed of the President, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the student body, the Vice President, who serves as President of the Senate, the Secretary/Treasurer, and eight other individuals that comprise the President's Cabinet.
  • The Legislative Branch is the main deliberative body of the Student Government Association and is where most, if not all, SGA initiated activities and actions must come through to be approved. It is composed of the Student Senate, which in turn is composed of 28 elected Senators.
  • The Judicial Branch is comprised of the Student Court. The Student Court is led by a Chief Justice, who is a member of the President's Cabinet, and is comprised of 7 associate justices.
Participating in the SGA

If you think you'd like to participate in the SGA, but you're not sure how or if you have the time, you can view the different branches of the SGA or volunteering at one of our events. 

You might also learn more about the SGA by sitting in on a weekly Senate meeting (Tuesdays at 4pm in the Culp Center Forum Room) or dropping by the SGA office during office hours to speak with current members.