skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University Governance

East Tennessee State University

Academic Council

Reports to:



Take action on curricular proposals emerging from Undergraduate Curriculum Committee, Graduate Council, and GEAC; 

Take action on University-wide admission and retention policies;

 Consider (and take action when warranted) on proposals to create new entities or pursue new or revised major academic initiatives/agendas/policies (e.g., Summer School, Continuing Studies, Research, etc.);

 Process information, advise, and take action (when warranted) re proposals involving distance education, online education, cohort students, extended campus initiatives, student   retention andpersistenceto graduation;

 Advise, consider, and take action (when warranted) re academic issues brought forth for consideration by the Provost or by any member of the Council; and

Advise, consider, and take action (when warranted) re matters impacting academic standards, academic honors, and assessment of academic effectiveness.



Membership  Structure


Voting and all terms are Indefinite

 Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs


Bert C. Bach

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Marsh Grube

Director of Institutional Effectiveness and SACS Liaison

Cheri Clavier

Vice Provost for Enrollment Services

Ramona Williams

Vice Provost for Research and Sponsored Programs

Bill R. Duncan

Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education

William Kirkwood

Senior Vice Provost for Information Technology Services

Karen King

Chief of Staff and Associate Vice President for Health Affairs

Jane Jones

Associate Vice President for Student Affairs

Jeff Howard

Dean, Arts and Sciences

Gordon Anderson

Dean,  Business and Technology

Dennis Depew

Dean, Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences

Don Samples

Dean, Continuing Studies

Rick Osborn

Dean, Clemmer College

Gregory Aloia

Dean, Graduate Studies

Sharon McGee

Dean, Honors College

Judy Slagle

Dean, Libraries

Patricia Van Zandt

Dean, Medicine

William A. Block (interim)

Dean, Nursing

Wendy Nehring

Dean, Pharmacy

Debbie Byrd

Dean, Public Health

Randy Wykoff

President, Faculty Senate

Bill Flora

Vice President, Faculty Senate

Stephen Hendrix

Past President, Faculty Senate

Susan Epps

Chair, Council of Chairs

Myra Clark

Chair, Graduate Council

Lori Marks

Chair, Research Development Committee

David Hurley

Chair, Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

Shirley Cherry

Representative, General Education Advisory Council

Kellie Price

President, Graduate and Professional Student Association


President, Student Government Association

Megha Gupta

Vice Provost and Special Assistant to the President for Strategic Initiatives (ex-officio, non-voting) Angela Lewis
Associate Vice President for Planning and Decision Support (ex-officio) Mike Hoff

Updated 27 August 2017

icon for left menu icon for right menu