skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University Governance

East Tennessee State University

Residency Classification Appeal Committee

Reports to:

Vice President for Student Life and Enrollment


Review appeals of initial classification of in-state or out-of-state for fees and tuition for admissions purposes.

Initial classification of residency is made in the following areas:

Undergraduate students: Director of Admissions

Graduate students: School of Graduate Studies

Medical students: Quillen College of Medicine

The Residency Classification Appeal Committee serves as the appeal body for residency classification decisions for all undergraduate, graduate, and medical students. The Regulations for Classifying Students In-State and Out-of-State (TBR Policy No. 3:05:01:00) are followed.

The committee will meet prior to each semester and at other times as needed to review evidence provided by students.

All appeals must be submitted in writing prior to the beginning of the term for which the appeal is filed. A student will be notified of the date and location of the committee meeting and the option of meeting with the committee in person. Request for appeals for the current term will not be accepted after the census date for term.

The decision of the Residency Classification Appeals Committee is final. If a student believes that due process (the right to have your concern reviewed by an impartial third party) has not been afforded, a written appeal may be made to the Provost only on the basis of due process; otherwise, the decision of the committee is final. Such an appeal, based on denial of due process and specifically identifying the failure of the process, must be initiated writing within 14 calendar days from the time the decision of the committee is reported to the student.  Additional appeals for a future term may be permitted by the committee on presentation of significant new evidence which was not available at the time of the original appeal.



Membership Structure


Area of Representation

Length of Term



Kathy Feagins



Robert David Robinson

Faculty Member at Large


Tom Donohoe



Ryan Seale

Enrollment Services


Scott Kirkby

Graduate Studies


Catherine Morgan

Financial Aid


Doug Taylor, CHAIR

College of Medicine


Non-Voting/ Ex-Officio


Heather Levesque

Enrollment Services


Updated 6 November 2019

icon for left menu icon for right menu