skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University Relations

East Tennessee State University

Media Relations

ETSU University Relations staff members are assigned to cover specific colleges, divisions, and offices across the East Tennessee State University campus. 

For information about the ETSU Speakers Bureau and how to invite an etsu faculty or staff member to speak at your event, please click here

Links to regional and national media outlets can be found here.

Members of the news media are encouraged to contact a staff member at the numbers below, or, to reach the main University Relations office, call (423) 439-4317.

Joe Smith 
Executive Assistant to the President for University Relations/Chief Communications Officer
(423) 439-5707

Administration, including Presidents Office, University Chief Operating Officer, Academic Affairs (administrative), Advancement (administrative), Enrollment Management, Equity and Diversity, Facilities Management, Financial Aid, Finance and Administration, Housing, Human Resources, Legal Affairs, Registrars Office
Crisis Issues
Public Safety
Clemmer College
University School
Honors College
ETSU and General Shale Brick Natural History Museum at the Gray Fossil Site
Roan Scholars Program
Department of Biological Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Department of Geosciences
Department of Psychology
Division of Theatre and Dance

Kristen Swing 
Director of Communications 
(423) 439-4325 

Academic Health Sciences Center
James H. Quillen College of Medicine 
College of Nursing 
College of Public Health 
College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences 
Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy 
Community Health Centers 
Dental Hygiene Clinic 
Student Health Services 
Speech-Language and Hearing Clinic

Jennifer Hill 
Assistant Director 
(423) 439-5693 

Department of Art and Design 
Department of Communication 
Department of History 
Department of Literature and Language 
Department of Music 
Department of Philosophy and Humanities 
Department of Political Science 
Department of Physics 
Department of Sociology and Anthropology 
Department of Social Work 
Division of Storytelling 
Academic Technology and Office of e-Learning and Online Education 
African and African American Studies Program 
Alumni Affairs 
Charles C. Sherrod Library 
Center for Appalachian Studies and Services 
Central Receiving 
Community Partnerships Center 
Now & Then: The Appalachian Magazine 
WETS-FM (89.5)

Amanda Mowell
Communications Specialist 
(423) 439-5715

College of Business and Technology
School of Graduate Studies
Division of Student Affairs
School of Continuing Studies
Information Technology
Innovation Laboratory
International Programs and Studies
Scholarship Office
Deans list and Graduation list
George L. Carter Railroad Museum
Food Service
Postal Services
Religious Centers
Research and Sponsored Programs Administration



icon for left menu icon for right menu