skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Academic Affairs

East Tennessee State University

Service Award

Susan Epps PhotoDr. Susan Epps is the recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Faculty Award for Service. She is an associate professor in the Department of Allied Health Sciences within the College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences.

In receiving the award, Epps was recognized for her long and distinguished history of service to the university, which includes currently serving as president of ETSU’s Faculty Senate.

“Through her service to East Tennessee State University, Dr. Epps has embodied a passion for students, a commitment to shared governance and a spirit of stewardship for our institutional mission,” one individual wrote in a letter of support for her nomination. “Dr. Epps embodies the values of our institutional mission to improve the lives of the people of Central Appalachia. There are few faculty, or staff, on campus who are more engaged with this mission.”

In addition to serving as the president of Faculty Senate, Epps holds a variety of active positions on campus. She serves as the NCAA Faculty Athletic Representative for the institution, a role that positions her to be an advocate for student-athletes at ETSU.

Epps also helps students through her service as the chair of the University Judicial Board and is the immediate past chair of the Instructional Development Advisory Committee. She is a member of several boards and committees at ETSU, including University Council, Academic Council, the Intercollegiate Athletics Committee and the Student Activities Allocations Committee. Epps was one of four members of the inaugural Budget Advisory Committee, a group charged with exploring and implementing a new budget model for the institution.

“Dr. Epps not only encourages students to get involved in campus; one can find her at most ETSU events of note, often in a leadership role,” writes another supporter. “She is a model of faculty engagement in the life of the university.”

Epps received her undergraduate degree in English from Wake Forest University. She graduated with her master’s degree in student development from Appalachian State University and received an Ed.D. degree in educational leadership and policy analysis from ETSU in 2002.

icon for left menu icon for right menu