skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

Appalachian State University
group photo

The Elk Knob Art and Planning Project

Appalachian State University (ASU) collaborated with The Elk Knob Community Heritage Organization (EKCHO) and other local organizations to develop a sustainability plan that can facilitate independent community development work based on more than a decade of collaboration with ASU.  Student researchers administered a sustainable community planning workshop and implemented and updated a public art plan to promote local heritage and encourage area tourism in the communities of Meat Camp, Pottertown, and Sutherland, NC.  Between 2012 and 2014, ASU students helped implement EKCHOs art plan by developing community-based art projects that highlight the areas unique heritage.  While the Center for Appalachian Studies will continue working with these communities, the 2014 ATP project focused on fostering a stable transition to community-based, community-led planning related to the public art and cultural-environmental heritage assets created through community-university partnerships since 2000. 

For 2014-2015, the Center for Appalachian Studies engaged students and the local community to identify and help implement a community development plan that enables local, sustainable decision-making; students also created new collaborative works of art designed to help sustain community life.  Connecting these activities, student also helped update the public art plan, which expires in 2015.

2014 ATP Proposal

2014 ATP Conference Presentation

Appalachian State's Live Presentation in Washington, D.C.

2014 ATP Final Report


Contact Information:

Thomas S. Hansell
Center for Appalachian Studies
Appalachian State University
ASU Box 32115
Boone, NC 28608
Telephone: (828) 262-7730


Previous Conference Participation:  2013    2012    2011   2010   2009

ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu