skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

East Tennessee State University


Documenting Community Traditions: Sustainable Agriculture in Northeast Tennessee

Continuing ETSU's five-year commitment to Unicoi Country, the central focus of the 2012 ATP project was to document the history of agriculture in Unicoi County. The community partner is the Town of Unicoi.  The project goals were to promote sustainable agriculture and to preserve Unicoi's farming heritage. By bolstering sustainable agriculture, Unicoi County will increase job opportunities and per capita income and be better prepared to compete in the global economy. Students learned how to work with a local community and how to use a cultural survey as a tool in community development. Students also researched print sources on the history of farming in the county. Students designed an exhibition to be held at the Reece Museum in 2013, with exhibit panels on Unicoi County's agricultural history.

These goals were implemented by interviewing people who were involved in farming in Unicoi County--retired farmers, agricultural agents, people who grew up on farms, and others. In addition to their presentation in Washington, DC, they also presented their findings to the local community in Northeast Tennessee (community partners, elected officials, farmers, and other interested people).

2012 Presentation

2012 Final Report 


Contact Information:

Tess Lloyd, Ph.D.
East Tennessee State University
Department of English
PO Box 70683
Johnson City, TN 37614
Telephone: 423-439-6677


Previous Conference Participation2011   2010      2009

ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu