skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College


The Harlan County Project: Phase 13

The 2013 ATP project used the arts to instill the habit of creative thinking throughout our community and help Harlan County create a sustainable economy. The central focus was to explore how community-based theater and arts education can contribute to a new economic base for the county and enhance the quality of life for youth in our community. ATP students and faculty worked with a number of community partners on this project including the Higher Ground coalition, the Robert E. Frazier Foundation, and two community sites hosting Higher Ground community performances this fallthe East Kentucky Social Club and the Clover Fork Citizens for Progress.

ATP students built a traveling stage set, finalized a script, created an art exhibit/stage backdrop, and produced a new Higher Ground play in four locations around the county in the fall of 2013 and provided leadership in pilot art education classes, which we hope will eventually lead to the establishment of a new art school in multiple locations in Harlan County, including the old Rowlett Furniture building in downtown Cumberland.


2013 Presentation

2013 Final Report

2013 The Harlan Country Project: Phase 13 Highlights


Contact Information:

Robert Gipe
Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College
700 College Road
Cumberland, KY 40823
Telephone: 606-589-3130


Previous Conference Participation
2012    2011    2010    2009

ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu