skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Upward Bound

TRIO Programs (TRIO)


SGA SealUpward Bound Student Government Association

The Student Government Association is an important leadership aspect of Upward Bound. The SGA consists of a president, vice president, secretary, and 14 senators and 9 justices (chosen by staff). SGA opportunities and responsibilities include role modeling for Upward Bound students, taking a genuine interest in the purpose of Upward Bound, attending meetings, participating in the interview process for prospective Resident Advisors each spring, and providing input and planning for the summer program.

If you are interested in running for SGA, please contact Emily Grater at the beginning of the summer for an application: 423-439-6188, .


2019-2020 SGA


President: Adam Manuel (Johnson County High School)

Vice President: Shawn Barber (Elizabethton)

Secretary: Lauren Paterson (Johnson County)



Cloudland High School: Stevie Barnet and Veronica Davic

Dobyns-Bennett: Timothy Jarrett

Elizabethton High School: Jazmyn Manuel

Hampton High School: Katrina Hyder

Happy Valley: Ellen Carpenter

Johnson County High School: Emily Irizarry

Science Hill: Miranda Ingram

Sullivan Central: Jada Steele

Sullivan East: Trevor Winters

Sullivan North: Jay Mason

Sullivan South: Bryan Bernard

Tennessee High: Carolyn Doss

Unaka High School: Carson Harkleroad

Unicoi High School: 



Elizabethton High School: Katie Harrah

Hampton High School: Isabella Brown

Hampton High School: Shelby Mahoney

Happy Valley: India Davis

Happy Valley: Grace Miller

Science Hill: Alexis McMurtry

Sullivan Central: Kayla Herron

Sullivan South: Jada Lane

Sullivan North: Finn McClain

2017-18 SGA members

2017-18 SGA members prepare for upcoming RA interviews
icon for left menu icon for right menu