skip to main content columnskip to horizontal navigation

ETSU Accessibility

East Tennessee State University

Benchmarks for Accessibility

In order to ensure the accessibility of our information materials and technologies, the University will measure the functionality of individual resources against a set of nationally-recognized accessible technology standards.

WCAG 2.0 Level AA and WAI-ARIA 1.0

The Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) is an effort coordinated by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), an international standards organization for the World Wide Web. The WAI has published multiple guidelines for accessibility which address a variety of web-related technologies, including the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), and the Accessible Rich Internet Applications (WAI-ARIA) technical specification. ETSU will use these guidelines to evaluate and improve web content and applications. For details about these guidelines, follow the URLs below.

WCAG 2.0 Guidelines

WAI-ARIA Technical Specification

EPUB 3 Accessibility Guidelines

The International Digital Publishing Forum is a trade and standards organization for the digital publishing industry. They develop and maintain the EPUB content publication standard that is used by publishers industry-wide for the digital distribution of books, journals, newspapers, magazines, etc. They have developed a set of accessibility guidelines for content authors using the EPUB format. ETSU will use these guidelines when evaluating or creating content distributed in the EPUB format. For details about these guidelines, follow the URL below.

EPUB 3 Accessibility Guidelines

icon for left menu icon for right menu