skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Black Faculty and Staff Association

East Tennessee State University

Featured Members
Dorothy Dobbins, PhD
Associate V.P.
Cultural Affairs
Division of Health Sciences
East Tennessee State University
Office: 423-439-5905
Dr. Dorothy Dobbins is an Associate Vice President for Cultural Diversity in the Division of Health Sciences and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Social Work. Dr. Dobbins was the founding director of the Office of Student Support Services in the James H. Quillen College of Medicine, where she served as Assistant Dean and Associate Dean of Students Affairs. In 2001, Dr. Dobbins was selected to establish Health Sciences' Office of Cultural Affairs.
Student and staff diversity has always been a significant focus of her personal and professional goals. Among her many accomplishments has been securing the first federal funding at ETSU for Ronald McNair Post-Baccalaurete Achievement Program, which encourages and facilitates doctoral studies for students from low-income or first-generation college student backgrounds
or minority students.It provides research experiences for participants, as well as enrichment activities, academic and career counseling, and participation in professional conferences. She is in the fourth year of directing the Migrant Student Leadership Conference, which provides many Hispanics high school students from across the state an opportunity to explore careers and post-high school educational opportunities. Working with faculty and staff within the Division of Health Sciences and the larger University, she has facilitated the securing of state funding to increase underrepresented minorities in the health sciences undergraduate programs and professional schools as well as diverse the faculty of those programs. The most recent of these is the ACE Project, conducted in partnership with Chattanooga State Community College.

Dr. Dobbins is a long standing member of the Black Faculty & Staff Association, serving as one of its charter members and having held many offices, including President. She is a native of Johnson City and an alumni of East Tennessee State University. She resides in Kingsport, TN with her husband Van.

Keith V. Johnson, PhD, Chair
Dept of Engineering Technology
Survey and Digital Media
East Tennessee State University
Box 70552
Johnson City, TN 37614
Office: 423-439-7813
Fax: 423-439-7830

Dr. Keith Johnson (extreme right), pictured with participants in his minority recruitment program. February 2010.
Dr. Keith V. Johnson is a Tenured Professor in the Department of Engineering Technology, Survey and Digital Media at East Tennessee States University (ETSU), in Johnson City, TN. Dr. Johnson has bee Chair of the department for the past ten years and has taught at ETSU for the past 17 years. In addition to his service to the university, Dr. Johnson has served on several boards in the Johnson City community, including but not limited to the Providence Academy School Board. Dr. Johnson has been involved with The American Society of Engineering Education since 1994 where he served as reviewer, moderator, program chair, member-at-large for the Engineering Technology Division of ASEE, Director of the Engineering Technology Council and the New Engineering Education Division. Dr. Johnson has received several awards and recognitions for his leadership as Chair of the department. His leadership roles also include Chair of the President's Council of Cultural Diversity, Vice Chair of the PA Board of Directors, Chair of the Council of Chairs and the like. During his tenure as Chair of the department, Dr. Johnson has lead several successful accreditation visits in the following areas: Manufacturing Engineering Technology, Construction Engineering Technology, Electronics Engineering Technology, and Surveying and Mapping Engineering Technology. One of his recent research interests include recruiting minority faculty to ETSU.

Mary Jordan
Special Assistant to the President for Cultural Diversity & Equal Opportunity Employment/Affirmative Action Director
East Tennessee State University
P.O. Box 70734
206 Dossett Hall Lake Street
Johnson City, TN 37614
Office: 423-439-4211
icon for left menu icon for right menu