skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

East Tennessee State University


Documenting Community Traditions: Railroad History and Cultural Heritage Tourism in Northeast Tennessee

East Tennessee State University's ATP project will continue to document the history of the Clinchfield Railroad in Unicoi County and to develop this aspect of cultural heritage tourism for the area. Leaders from the Unicoi County government, the local economic development board, as well as the local historical association and heritage museum, have identified the proposed railroad history project as a high priority and have requested the assistance of the ETSU 2015 ATP class.

The project will emphasize the cultural history of the railroad as a significant force in local communities and in the lives of residents. The project has two main goals: (1) To conduct additional ethnographic field research to survey existing documentation and conduct interviews of residents who have some connection to the railroad in the region; and (2) To work with community leaders to continue developing plans and projects for utilizing railroad history to promote cultural heritage tourism. The focus of the fieldwork will be on retired railroad workers and other elderly residents who have memories of the railroad and its role in the community. At the request of the community partners, a particular emphasis for 2015-2016 will be on the historical role of the railroad in developing a regional economy. This focus will not only help to document important history but also can help to promote economic development in the region today.

2015 ATP Proposal

ETSU Live Presentation in Washington, D.C.  

2015 ATP Final Report


Contact Information:

Ron Roach, Ph.D. 
Chair, Department of Appalachian Studies
East Tennessee State University 
P.O. Box 70435
Johnson City, TN 37614 
Telephone: (423) 439-7494

Previous Conference Participation:  
2014    2013    2012    2011   2010    2009

ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu