skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College


 The Harlan County Project: Phase 14

In the Spring, the 2014 ATP students began writing up incidents of community history and community-based personal experiences and connected these events and experiences to specific geographic points. They also photographed these spots. During the Summer of 2014, students will work with the Appalachian Program and Bruce Parsons at the University of Pikeville to develop a smartphone application that will integrate their stories and photographs into the Higher Ground guide to Harlan County. Some of the summer work will take place in a SKCTC class and some will take place in a UPIKE class happening in Harlan County this summer. The work will continue into the fall. The work is funded during the summer by the Robert E. Frazier Foundation as part of its three-year commitment to the Creative Development Center (CDC). The CDC is a collaborative project between our ATP partners to increase higher education opportunities in our community and to hold creative young people in the county longer. The project will combine education in arts and history with experience in software authoring. The work will be integrated into ongoing tourism development efforts. The project will also be connected to a larger collaboration with Appalshop intended to connect young creators across county lines in the SKCTC service area. That project is funded by Alternate ROOTS and its Partners in Action program.

2014 ATP Proposal

2014 ATP Conference Presentation

SKCTC's Live Presentation in Washington, D.C.

2014 ATP Final Report 


Contact Information:

Robert Gipe
Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College
700 College Road
Cumberland, KY 40823
Telephone: (606) 589-3130


Previous Conference Participation
:  2013    2012    2011    2010    2009

ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu