skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

East Tennessee State University

Photo by Lloyd Wolf

Documenting Community Traditions:  The Use of Railroad and Industrial History to Promote Cultural Heritage Tourism in Northeast Tennessee

Students in the East Tennessee State University Documenting Community Traditions course continued an oral history and heritage tourism project in partnership with the Unicoi County Economic Development Board and the Unicoi County Heritage Museum/Clinchfield Railroad Museum in Erwin, Tennessee.  In this project, students studied the principles of ethnographic fieldwork and heritage tourism, conduct archival research, go into the field to collect oral histories, and meet with community partners to develop and implement strategies for using the collected materials to promote heritage tourism.

In this year’s project, students focused on assisting the community partners in developing promotional materials that incorporate aspects of the oral histories gathered by previous students in this project and that further encourage tourism connected to the railroad heritage of the community.  In particular, students worked with community partners and ETSU Mass Communication students to develop a brochure for the Unicoi County Heritage Museum/Clinchfield Railroad Museum. The project is designed to directly support heritage tourism as an important component of the community’s plans for long-term cultural and economic sustainability.


2016 ATP Proposal

ETSU's Live Presentation in Washington, DC

2016 Final Report


Contact Information:

Ron Roach, Ph.D. 
Chair, Department of Appalachian Studies
East Tennessee State University 
P.O. Box 70435
Johnson City, TN 37614 
Telephone: (423) 439-7494


Previous Conference Participation:  
2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009

ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu