skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

College of Public Health

Delta Omega Honor Society

ETSU College of Public Health inducts new members into Delta Omega Honor Society

    JOHNSON CITY – East Tennessee State University’s College of Public Health recently inducted new members into the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health in recognition of their outstanding dedication to the field.
    Delta Omega is the national honor society for graduate studies in public health, and membership reflects the dedication of an individual to quality in the study and practice of public health and to protection and advancement of the health of all people.
    Three students who are pursuing a master of public health degree with a concentration in epidemiology were selected for this recognition. They are Glenn Quarles of Kingsport, Rebecca Bartles of Mount Carmel and Sumit Pathy of India. Davida Rogers, an ETSU alumna from Memphis who received her master of public health degree in community health, was also inducted.
    Dr. Toni Bounds, assistant professor in the Department of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, earned Delta Omega induction for exceptional work as a researcher, teacher and advocate for cancer prevention and care for women.
    Also receiving induction was Don Best, health coordinator for the Sevier County School System. Best was selected for his outstanding support of Tennessee’s Coordinated School Health program and for working with the ETSU Department of Community Health as a liaison for an employee wellness program in the school system.
    The wellness program provides health assessments and risk reduction education for teachers and staff of Sevier County Schools. This two-year-old project offers ETSU students an opportunity to practice public health in real-life settings, and supports the efforts of the Sevier County Schools administration to enhance the well-being of its staff.

icon for left menu icon for right menu