skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

Southeast Kentucky Community & Technical College



Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKCTC) 2017 ATP students will collaborate with the Harlan County Community Foundation to participate in an ongoing strategic planning process focusing on downtown development in Harlan County.  This collaboration was initiated by the donation of a building in downtown Harlan to the Harlan County Community.  SKCTC has also applied for an ARC Flex-E grant through the Brushy Fork Institute to engage the community and to develop a community-based plan for downtown development that incorporates the donated building.

As part of the planning process, ATP students will study best practices from similar communities, attend 1-2 planning meetings, produce a written analysis of downtown Harlan, and present research-grounded ideas for community development strategies.  The students’ work will be incorporated in the final report and plan produced by the community coalition.  Some SKCTC ATP students will be part of the leadership presenting the findings of the group to the larger community. 




Contact Information:

Mr. Robert Gipe
Appalachian Program Director
Professor of Humanities
Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College 
700 College Road 
Cumberland, KY 40823 
Telephone: (606) 589-3130 


Previous Conference Participation
2016    2015     2014     2013     2012     2011     2010     2009

ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu