skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Department of Public Safety

East Tennessee State University

DPS Mission and Goals

Department of Public Safety

The East Tennessee State University Department of Public Safety is a professional law enforcement agency dedicated to the protection of East Tennessee State University and its diverse community. The Department is led by Police Chief Jack Cotrel, as he and his force of twenty officers and six dispatchers serve the campus community

Mission of the Department

To Provide for the overall safety and security of the University community and its properties in order to maintain an environment as favorable to academic excellence as possible. 

Strategy for Fulfilling Our Mission

  • Deliver superior law enforcement services with integrity and pride
  • Respect and safeguard the dignity and rights of all individuals
  • Demonstrate respect toward the people we serve and one another to maintain an environment of trust
  • Develop partnerships with all segments of our community through effective communication and collaboration
  • Carefully select and maintain a well-trained, educated, and professional staff
  • Accept individual responsibility and accountability for our actions


icon for left menu icon for right menu