skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Center for Teaching Excellence

East Tennessee State University

Advisory Board

Center for Teaching Excellence Advisory Board

The Advisory Board for the Center for teaching excellence will provide recommendations and guidance to the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence. The Advisory Board will provide support and consultation on programming for the CTE. Additionally, Advisory Council members will be responsible for helping communicate CTE activities to faculty/staff within their colleges, schools, councils, and support units.

Board Membership

Voting members of the CTE Advisory Board will include 12 faculty liaisons (one from each college or school and Sherrod Library), a representative from the Faculty Senate executive council, and a Council of Chairs representative, the director of Academic Technology Support, and the director of learning services. Center staff including, the instructional design coordinator, the center director, and the faculty fellow will serve on the board as ex-officio members.

Ms. Leslie Adebonojo

Sherrod Library

Dr. Amy Greene

Clemmer College of Education


School of Graduate Studies

Dr. Lana Becker

College of Business and Technology

Dr. Colin Chesley

College of Public Health

Dr. Susan Epps

College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences

Dr. Julie Fox-Horton

School of Continuing Studies and Academic Outreach

 Dr. Jeff Gray
Gatton College of Pharmacy
Dr. Karen Kornweibel
Honors College
Dr. Tom Kwasigroch
Quillen College of Medicine
Dr. Josh Reid
College of Arts and Sciences
Ms. Rhonda Brodrick
College of Nursing
Dr. Patrick Brown
Faculty Senate Executive Council
Dr. Keith Johnson
Council of Academic Chairs Executive Committee
Mr. Anthony Kiech
Director of Academic Technology Support
Ms. Deidre Johnson
Learning Services Coordinator, CFAA
Mr. Phil Smith
Teaching and Learning Specialist, ex-officio

Dr. Alison Barton

CTE Faculty Fellow, ex-officio

 The Advisory Board should perform the following tasks:

  • Create the mission statement for the Center for Teaching Excellence and propose revisions to the mission as needed
  • Consult with the Director of the CTE to develop a short and long-range strategic plan for the Center that supports the goals of the University’s strategic plan.
  • Monitor progress on the identified strategic goals for the center.
  • Participate in listening strategies (surveys, focus groups, etc.) needed to help determine instructional development needs for the campus.
  • Advise the center director regarding programming and services provided by the CTE
  • Communicate activities of the CTE to other faculty within their colleges, schools, councils, and support units
  • Develop the criteria for a distinguished teaching professor program and select faculty to be recognized as distinguished teaching professors. 
Term of Service

CTE Faculty Liaisons will serve a two-year, non-renewable term on the advisory board. Exceptions to this service term will be the Director of ATS and the Learning Services Coordinator who will serve on the board continually.



icon for left menu icon for right menu