skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

ETSU Art Galleries

Department of Art & Design

Positive Negative Banner image


The Positive/Negative is a national juried art exhibition, organized yearly since 1985, to provide the regional community of Southern Appalachia in Northeastern Tennessee, Southwest Virginia, and nearby states, access to dynamic contemporary art practices that explore current directions in visual art. For more than 30 years, the Positive/Negative exhibitions serve as platform to investigate formal pursuits by visual artists, and in its presentation provide opportunities for critical discourse within the academic and local communities.
Former Art & Design Chair, Prof. M. Wayne Dyer established the Positive/Negative National Juried Art Exhibition in 1985, on his first year as faculty and gallery director at ETSU. For the first juror of the Open National Juried Art Exhibition, he invited a curator from the National Gallery of Art from Washington D.C., the exhibition was a huge success that drew entries from different parts of the US. Since then, the Positive/Negative continues to serve the region as a survey of contemporary art practice, and educational showcase of current trends and ideas in visual arts. Its highly anticipated annual exhibitions are juried by nationally renowned artists and influential curators from prestigious institutions. The diverse work promote exchanges and discourse among the participating artists, the viewing public and the jurors who present public lectures and critiques during the awarding reception.

 panorama of positivenegative 33
National Juried Art Exhibition

Juror: Margaret Winslow, Curator
Delaware Museum of Art

March 1 to April 6, 2018, at the Slocumb Galleries
Juror's Lecture & Reception: March 29, Thursday, 5 to 7 p.m.
Lecture starts at 6 p.m., Ball Hall Auditorium
Presented by the ETSU Department of Art & Design and Slocumb Galleries in partnership with the Honors College, Department of Theater & Dance and the Women's Resource Center from March 1 to April 6, 2018. This year's juror is Margaret Winslow, Curator at the Delaware Museum of Art. The awarding reception is on March 29, Thursday, at 5 p.m., with the Juror's lecture at 6 p.m., at the Ball Hall Auditorium.
About the Juror: Margaret Winslow is Curator of Contemporary Art at the Delaware Art Museum. Winslow has curated exhibitions for the Neuberger Museum of Art and The Delaware Contemporary and assisted with exhibits for the Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum. Recent exhibitions at the Delaware Art Museum include Truth & Vision: 21st Century Realism, Dream Streets: Art in Wilmington 1970–1990, and Retro-Active: Performance Art from 1964–1987. In 2010, she attended Independent Curators International’s Curatorial Intensive in New York and in 2015, she served as juror for Art of the State: Pennsylvania at the State Museum of Pennsylvania, and the Hunting Art Prize in Houston, Texas in 2013. Public presentations include lectures at the Beijing American Center in China, the Mid-Atlantic Association of Museums, and the University of Delaware. Winslow holds a BA in Art History from the University of Mary Washington and an MA in Modern and Contemporary Art, Theory, and Criticism from SUNY Purchase College.



P/N Exhibitions

Positive/Negative 33
Juror: Margaret Winslow
Delaware Art Museum

Positive/Negative 32
'We Are The Artists'
Juror: Anja Foerschner
Getty Research Institute,
Los Angeles, CA

Positive/Negative 31
'American' and 'Woman'

Juror: Al Miner
Museum of Fine Arts,
MFA Boston, MA

Positive/Negative 30 'Uncanny Valley' and 'Open'
Juror: Dr. Mika Yoshitake
Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden, Washington D.C.

Positive/Negative 29
'Open' and 'Pages'
Juror: Buzz Spector

Washington University,
St. Louis, MO

Positive/Negative 28

'Minority Rule'
Juror: Michael Ray Charles
Art21 & University of Texas, Austin, TX

Positive/Negative 27
'Material Transformation'
Juror: Dr. Gail Levin
City University of New York, New York, NY

Positive/Negative 26
Juror: Sammy Nicely
Atlanta, GA

Positive/Negative 25
Juror: Julien Robson
PA Academy of Fine Art,
Philadephia, PA

Positive/Negative 24
Juror: Pradip Malde
Sewanee University,
Sewanee, TN

Positive/Negative 23
Juror: Antoine Guerrero
Queens, NY

Positive/Negative 22 
Juror: Toby Kamps
Contemporary Art Center,
Cincinnati, OH











icon for left menu icon for right menu