skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

College of Arts & Sciences

The College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Committees are listed below.

Additional information regarding the committees is found in the College Constitution.

Faculty Council

The College of Arts and Sciences shall have a Faculty Council to represent the faculty and to assist the Dean in the orderly management of the College. The Faculty Council shall serve as the Screening and Steering Committee of the Faculty for the consideration of all matters of academic policy. It shall have the responsibility to advise the Dean on all academic and budgetary matters. The Council shall maintain communication with all standing committees and ad hoc committees appointed by the Council.

Members of the Faculty Council for the 2017-2018 academic year are Nate Olson (Appalachian Studies), Ismail Kady (Chemistry), Jan Jost-Fritz (Literature and Language), Lindsay Rogers (Art and Design), Vanessa Mayoraz (Art and Design), Ingrid Luffman (Geosciences), Yousif Elhindi (Literature and Language), Nicole Lewis (Mathematics and Statistics), Josh Reid (Literature and Language), Melanie Richards (Media and Communication), Tema Stauffer (Art and Design), and Christian Zembower (Music).

Council of Chairs

The Council of Chairs shall consist of the chair of every department and directors of Centers of Excellence of the College of Arts & Sciences or their designated representative. It shall also include a member from the Faculty Council.

Educational Affairs Committee

The Educational Affairs Committee shall maintain oversight of all policies concerning new courses, academic programs, curricular changes, or other educational affairs within the College and make recommendations to the Dean. The committee makes recommendations to the Dean regarding the candidate for the annual Jewell Friend Lecture.

Members of the Educational Affairs Committee for the 2017-2018 academic year are Scott Koterbay (Art & Design), Rebecca Keeler (Political Science, International Affairs, and Public Administration), Jason Steadman (Psychology), Donna Cherry (Social Work), Robert Beeler (Mathematics and Statistics), Eileen Gloria Ernenwein (Geosciences), Heather Killmeyer (Music), Mark Baumgartner (Literature and Language), and Lee Bidgood (Appalachian Studies).

Promotion and Tenure Committee

The Promotion and Tenure Committee reviews applications and serves to provide college recommendations in matters pertaining to faculty promotion and tenure. The committee makes recommendations directly to the Dean.

Members of the Promotion and Tenure Committee for the 2017-2018 academic year are Henry Antkiewicz (History), Sun-Joo Oh (Music), Andrew Dunn (Mass Communication), Andrea Clements (Psychology), Robert Davidson (Mathematics and Statistics), Keith Green (Philosophy and Humanities), Jessee Graves (Literature and Language), Frank Hagelberg (Physics and Astronomy), Mindy Herrin (Art and Design), and Leslie McCallister (Sociology and Anthropology).

Evaluation Committee for Non-instructional Assignments

The Evaluation Committee for NIAs reviews applications and makes recommendations for Non-instructional Assignments directly to the Dean.

Members of this committee for the 2017-2018 academic year are Daniel Newcomer (History), Darrell Moore (Biology), and Michele Joyner (Mathematics and Statistics).

Advisory Committee on Faculty Awards

The Faculty Awards Advisory Committee reviews nominations and makes recommendations for the annual Faculty Awards.

Members of this committee for the 2017-2018 academic year are Phyllis Thompson (Literature and Language), Daryl Carter (History), Marina Roginskaya (Chemistry), David Harker (Philosophy and Humanities), Esther Park (Music), and Susan Waters (Media and Communication).

Basler Chair Selection Committee 

The committee reviews nominations and makes recommendation for the annual Basler Chair.

Members of the Basler Chair Selection Committee for the 2017-2018 academic year are Esther Park (Music), Aruna Kilaru (Biology), Robert Beeler (Mathematics & Statistics), Eileen Ernenwein (Geosciences), Anant Godbole (Mathematics and Statistics), Gerald Deehan (Psychology), and Katrina Heil (Literature and Language).

Academic Dishonesty and Grade Appeal Committee

This committee reviews charges of Academic Dishonesty and Student Grade Appeals as described in university policy. The committee is formed on an as-needed basis.


icon for left menu icon for right menu